Broker fee

10 Replies

Hi all,

I'm looking to purchase property in the Philadelphia area and an talking with an agent there. He sent me a document to sign. Is it normal to sign a buyer agency contract and also for it to contain an agreement for the buyer to pay the agent 3% of the house upon purchase? I thought the seller usually pays that.

Thanks in advance.

Hey there Chaim,

The standard practice is that the seller covers the commissions paid to the brokers at closing. Occasionally when dealing with FSBOs, an agent may work something out with a buyer. It is one of the reasons why I recommend buyers work with an agent when looking at properties, as they are paid for by the seller. 

-James

Hello Cham,

Im a broker in NYC. Every market is different. With that said, here in NYC, I have never heard of buyers agents using binding agreements with buyers to find them properties.

I personally would never sign one. What if the agent is too busy to look for properties for you? What if you find a property on your own? 

I would tell the agent I'm happy to work with them and if they send a listing that I'm interested in, I would make an offer through them. Tell the agent if he doesn't trust you, he can send you general details without an address or picture. If you're interested, tell him you are willing to sign a non-disclosure/non-circumvent agreement so he can feel safe disclosing the address and showing you the property.

When I got into building sales I realized most owners do not sign exclusive listing agreements. They just put the word out that they are trying to sell. Some sellers will pay a broker a finders fee, some will not. So I had to use a NDA to protect myself once a buyer would tell me they were interested. And I would make both the property owner and buyer sign separate agreements.