Agent or Broker? Also cheapest class in Mass

11 Replies

I'm new to REI and doing my homework before jumping in. I like the idea of being a real estate agent for the commissions on the transactions.

I'm not sure what other states do, but Massachusetts has an agent (salesperson) and broker licenses. Any suggestions if I should get the broker license? Or should I worry about that later? I do plan to form an LLC for the REI business.

Also, does anyone recommend a school (online/in person) in Mass?

Hello from St Louis,

I can only speak about my perspective in Missouri, but here broker's take on more responsibility aka legal risks and time spent on the paperwork/legal side of contracts.  So, first I'd look into that and make sure that's something you want to take on.  

Starting as a salesperson gives you an opportunity to see how a broker runs things, and probably allows you to focus more on the RE market and less on the administrative side.   Are you able to test for a broker's license immediately? In Missouri you must be "active" for "24 of the last 30 months" aka have a salesperson's license for two years before becoming a broker.

If you can get a broker's license it may be worth your time, or it may be better to wait.  Are you highly detailed oriented and want to have a small one-person show from the start?  Or, do you want a brokerage that can deal with a lot of the paperwork, and be there to answer questions or provide training?  If you decide to hang your license with a broker, the type of broker will depend on what you want from them e.g. more training as well as what your goals are with the license e.g. just your own transactions or helping others buy, sell, or manage real estate.