Dear Agents, I'm not worth your time.

35 Replies

I'm just starting out. Each time I contact an agent and let them know what I'm willing to offer they usually laugh and are quick to discourage the approach. I'm confused. Like most investors I want to make an offer low enough to get the best bang for my buck and I don't care if my offer isn't accepted if it's not a good deal. However, this is a royal pain and waste of time for a real estate agent. I remember in Rich Dad, Poor Dad, Kiyosaki emphasizing making low offers and finding an agent willing to do so. Are there agents out there who will support an investor who low-balls every seller in hopes of finding a great deal? I can't imagine why an agent would do this. Are there investors out there who became agents for the express purpose of being able to write the offers themselves? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this and more. 

You just have to find an agent and prove to them you can close. Once you for a relationship it can work.

Focus on forming the relationship. 

Hi @Blake Hansen ,

The list price IS the lowball price. That's how agents have been (stupidly) listing things for the last few years in our area.

You do not need an agent to write an offer. You are (almost certainly) a FTHB so you should absolutely have an agent, obviously, but you don't need one.

to answer you questions... yes and yes.

there are agents that will write offers.

yes, lots of investors become agents JUST so that they write offers. 

@blake hansen, 

I'm an investor and also licensed,so being licensed is a plus since  I can make offers directly all day long- especially on hud homes, walk homes as soon as it hits the market and best of all is list and sell your own deals.