Residential Realtor with Commercial Client

6 Replies

I work part time as a realtor and recently had a family member come to me looking to buy a commercial property for his small business.  Since I have only done residential transactions I was curious to see what other agents do in this type of situation. He is a qualified buyer who will end up buying so I would hate to just give the business away.  I was curious to see if anyone else was ever in this situation and what they did.  I had suggestions ranging from asking an experienced commercial agent to mentor you through the process in exchange for the full commission to splitting the commission by doing the leg work on the deal and having an agent overseeing the transaction.  Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

I had this same situation, and  my broker explained that if it was purchasing part or all of a business, not the property itself but the name, equipment, etc., then I could not do that.  But if it was purchasing the commercial building, then I could represent my family member and my broker would guide when necessary.   Unfortunately, my relative had specific parameters and decided not to purchase after all, so I cannot guide you on a completed purchase, just on the initial process.