Becoming an REO Agent

8 Replies

Hello, I am new to biggerpockets, and I am super excited about all of the available resources from investing to wholesaling in the forums.  I am a licensed real estate agent in the Hampton Roads area of Virginia. I am looking for any information on becoming a reo agent.  I read an older post that had a video, but the post was 8 years old, and the link on the video for BofA is no longer active.  Do you have to register with Equator?  Do you have to go through your broker to register as a vendor to provide services to banks? I would appreciate any information! :-)     

@Janet Freeman welcome to Bigger Pockets! I looked into this several years back, but opted not to get into it as the REO market here in Chicago seemed to be tough to break into. I know @Mark Ferguson did this very successfully and could weigh in.  I think the biggest problem right now in the REO industry is that there are not many REO properties in a lot of markets. I know I am seeing less and less of them in the Forest Park or Berwyn markets where I am working. 

@Janet Freeman - Can you ask your managing broker or local board?  I think it varies by area and your local board should have classes

@Janet Freeman If you want to be a REO agent I would recommend seeing if you can get on a well established team in your area that does a lot of REO transactions. Getting your foot in the door that way can lead to opportunities to work directly with banks & asset managers who are the people you need to get in front of if you want to be in that business.

Not to mention a REO team with a lot of listings can also provide you the opportunity to develop buyer leads from people who inquire about listings.