Becoming an agent in Honolulu?

3 Replies

Hello BP, I’m a recent graduate in economics and I’ve been studying RE investing for years. However right now what I need is a career, my girlfriend and I are living in Kona, HI doing a work trade (that’s how we moved here from the east coast). I’m interested in becoming a realtor, and have been studying RE InvestIng for years and I think I could be successful. However I don’t know anyone here and I’m not sure where to start. I’m also unsure if Honolulu is a reasonable place to start. Any and all feedback is great, any suggestions are welcome. Thanks in advance, Nate Christensen
@Nathan Christensen , I own several properties in Kauai. If you’re looking for a career in HIGH demand I’d suggest the following: 1. Get your RE license (but not for the reason you’re thinking) 2. Maintain it for 5 years, in the meantime... 3. Become on island contacts for all us “out of state” investors. Every rental needs one. 4. Start a business to support short term vacation rentals 5. Handle the maintenance, cleanings, and on island support for others. I pay $250-275 per 3 bedroom condo per cleanIng, 4x a month and each cleaning is probably 3-4 hours. You could even farm it out. 6. Consider being a co host 7. After 5 years of RE license become a broker, then get your property management license and take what you’ve built to th next level. Good on island contacts are nearly impossible to come by... you’ll grow like a weed. While this isn’t traditional RE path, you can acquire condos as you grow and become both the investor and the support for others. Additionally, as a HI resident you qualify for loans which us mainlanders don’t.. and they’re very good loans. You’ll be rich in no time.