Real Estate Agent asking for money

31 Replies

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to real estate still but I am on the hunt for my first rental property. I have been in contact with some real estate agents.

I have one real estate agent that has asked me to sign an agency agreement and $300 in order for me to work with him. I am wondering if that is a normal thing or is this a red flag.

Any thoughts on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Sean

The "agency agreement" (If it is like NY), simply states who they are working for at that moment (Not a contract for future work). It is required for us so that I can say I represent you while we talk (state mandated so that if I really work for the seller you know it), you are not locked into me though. 

Now an "Exclusive right to represent" is different, that usually says "Hey you are hiring me for 6 months" or some such. As far as the cash upfront, I don't and don't know an agent that does, however San Diego it could be common practice.

good Luck!

Originally posted by @Mike Cumbie :

The "agency agreement" (If it is like NY), simply states who they are working for at that moment (Not a contract for future work). It is required for us so that I can say I represent you while we talk (state mandated so that if I really work for the seller you know it), you are not locked into me though. 

Now an "Exclusive right to represent" is different, that usually says "Hey you are hiring me for 6 months" or some such. As far as the cash upfront, I don't and don't know an agent that does, however San Diego it could be common practice.

good Luck!

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the info. This is an out of state realtor in Missouri. I took a closer look and it is a "buyers exclusive agency contract" that is stating that this realtor will work with me for 6 months and is requesting additional compensation of $300 upon signing of this agreement for his time and expenses during those 6 months.