Agent Employment question

2 Replies

Hi, I'm currently an agent for a popular brokerage in my city but I'm interested in leaving the brokerage and signing up with a new one. But I was unsure how that process works. Should I sign up for the new brokerage and if I get approved do I then inform the other brokerage that I'll be leaving or leave the other brokerage and then apply for the new one? Im in Florida. Thanks in advance for the feedback.

1. 1) Review the policies and procedures with your current brokerage before you do anything, and/or your Independent Contractor Agreement. Understand what they say about leaving the company, and how existing business is handled when you do.
  2. 2) Do you have pending sales or active listings?
    1. If so, know what they are worth to you in terms of commission dollars.
    2. If so, know the company's policy on transferring them to the new brokerage. The listing usually belongs to the brokerage, not the broker, but many companies will allow you to transfer the listing to the new company, with permission from your client first. Sales that are already under contract can be tricky because you usually can't transfer a sale that is already under contract to a different brokerage. That means the old brokerage will be responsible for finishing it out, depending on the stage it's at. Some will still honor your commission split; others will keep a larger % depending on the work left to do, and I've heard of some that will only pay the agent a referral fee.
  3. 3) Work with the new brokerage, once you've committed to working there, to prepare for the move and transfer of any existing business. This might include having business cards ready, an announcement to your clients, signs for your listings, paperwork for transferring your license ready, and if you are transferring existing business, be prepared to explain to those customers the value or benefit to them when you make the move.