Self-Employed/Independent Contractor Loophole??

10 Replies

Greetings!! I am brand new...literally a week into this game and I came across my first snag.  I am an independent contractor and I am only 3 months in but within the same previous industry that I have been in for 10 years.  My husband is employed and in the same job for the last 12 years.

We want to purchase our first multifamily investment in 2018. Here is the challenge. Our lender informed us that he would have to get the loan in his name because of my employment status. But my concern is that most of the funds were coming from me. I am pulling a portion of an IRA and I only have access to it because I recently switched jobs.

Are there any loopholes??  Can I start putting money in his accounts for the next few months or something??  Would that help??  If I am a silent partner doesn't he have to show all of the funds??  

Next question, we have a business and we want to start putting our properties under our business name.  Should I instead start adding funding to the business account??  

Basically, where does all of the money need to sit in order for this transaction to go thru and how long do the funds need to sit in the account.

Any tips, loopholes??  Please share.

Thanks in advance!!

Charlotte

Charlotte, congratulations on your first post and welcome to BiggerPockets!

When you say "I am pulling funds from an IRA" do you mean you are taking distribution from an IRA and want to use those funds to buy investment property in your name or do you wish to rollover your IRA into self-directed IRA and buy the property inside of your SD IRA?

Dmitriy Fomichenko, Broker
(949) 228-9393

Good question. I want to use the funds to buy the investment property. When I rolled over my 401k they explained it to me as if they could write a check from my IRA for the amount I needed for the property. It would be a small portion of the IRA. Does that make sense? (Still learning)

@Charlotte Brathwaite