Due Dilgence - Denied

17 Replies

Have a 4500 sq ft custom house under contract with 10 day DD.

Seller is refusing to allow access for roofer, plumber electrician, pool inspector, etc. Only wants to allow my home inspector.

So we know there must be issue will all these systems but the house fits my family needs and we can turn additional space into an apartment for rental.

What option do we have besides walking away ?

You (and your agent if you're using one) need to re-read the contract and see what it allows for in terms of inspections. I have no knowledge on GA real estate law so I can't really give you advice on what your contract says, but it might be a bit overkill to have that many different inspectors running through a home, especially during COVID times. 

Going forward, you can just include additional language/terms that provide an opportunity for contractors of your choice to inspect the property during the due diligence period.

Typically the Home Inspector would go in first and identify any issues he feels should be addressed by a more specific trade Contractor. Maybe just get the HI in there first and tell him to be really curious. Better yet, hire a General Contractor/Home Inspector......a good one will be able to identify most all problems well enough.

Have your agent work with the listing agent to get this done. This is abnormal and any reasonable seller and listing agent should be more than accommodating for this type of thing. 

Section 8 of the purchase and sale agreement states that you have the right to inspect and do the things you're looking to do. So this could potentially be a breach of contract and be grounds for a lawsuit.

Thanks for the replys. . . here is an update.

We know the history of this house since we tried to buy it 2 years ago when it was for sale. We have a copy of a previous home inspection report.

Day 5 of the 10 DD: We contacted the agents broker/corporate office and we now have access.