GC TRIP CHARGES?

14 Replies

Do the majority of GC's charge you for doing a job analysis on your property? Like a trip charge etc? I have met with a GC that I like and has done good work through references and so on, but charges to do a walk through and trip charge. Is this normal?

Thanks
Newb

as being a contractor myself I never charge. What's really wrong is if the contractor has done work for you in the past he/she should feel comfortable you would most likely hire them. I have gone to some bogus estimates buts that my job as a contractor to sell myself and my company. There are a few big box store contractor who charge for an estimate but most do not. 

If there is a chance I will be awarded a project, I do not charge for my estimates. There are times when I act as an estimator and charge for my time- but that is discussed up front. I would have a conversation with the GC before I go forward

i would never pay for them to come do an estimate 
i am a licensed contractor,we never charge for an estimate ever
the box stores in my area charge for them and then give it back if you buy the project

We charge if the investor does not yet own the property, and refund the charge if they end up hiring us to work on that property.

Prior to this policy we were running literally 100+ bids per year on properties that the investor never even closed on. This translated into a LOT of lost time, gas, and opportunity costs. It just wasn't sustainable.

Originally posted by @Stephen Lofthus :

Do the majority of GC's charge you for doing a job analysis on your property? Like a trip charge etc? I have met with a GC that I like and has done good work through references and so on, but charges to do a walk through and trip charge. Is this normal?

Thanks
Newb