Just bought a house and i found electrical issues not to code

8 Replies

Hello everyone, I have some friends that just bought a house in San Diego and they had me over to give some electrical advice. As I looked in the attic, the house is clearly a flip. There are multiple code violations with the newer work. These violations are not hidden at all. As a commercial electrician I know that the flipper should have pulled a permit. But there is not possible way that it would have passed an inspection. Any advice? Thanks
Originally posted by @Jered Lafuze :
Hello everyone, I have some friends that just bought a house in San Diego and they had me over to give some electrical advice. As I looked in the attic, the house is clearly a flip. There are multiple code violations with the newer work. These violations are not hidden at all. As a commercial electrician I know that the flipper should have pulled a permit. But there is not possible way that it would have passed an inspection. Any advice? Thanks

I would say there is a chance they pulled permits and it wasn't caught. I just had an electrical inspection... inspector never went above a ceiling, didn't do anything but walk around for 30 seconds, and then we chatted and he left. He "checked" next to nothing. Luckily I trust my electrician on everything he is doing.

@Jered Lafuze Very common in this area for people flipping not to pull permits, so doesn't surprise me in the least.  Not an expert in seller liability, but...

The buyer is obligated to perform their own diligence, so I don't see a practical recourse at this point.  They'd have to prove the seller specifically knew about something and tried to cover it up - next to impossible for small stuff where someone else was hired to do the work.