Votes... What are they good for?

38 Replies

Hello

I'm new to Bigger Pockets. Can someone explain to me what votes are and if there is a customary way of reply to those who vote. I tried to find a glossary for bigger pockets. I figured out that Quote is reply and Connect was self explanatory but the vote has me wondering.  

@Warren Nelson   It is just a nice way to say I liked your post.  Under your picture in your posts it list the number of posts and the number of votes. If someone has a high proportion of votes to posts, the BP community seems to think they are posting worthwhile information.

It certainly would be polite to thank someone for a vote, however I rarely do and I rarely receive thanks for the votes I give.  I pay it forward by voting for others that post good information.

I vote for posts that I think give especially good value to the discussion, or teach me something new.... and often ones that make me laugh! And sometimes it's just kind of an "atta-boy" for someone posting a success story or good news... 

10 votes on a post gets you a gold star. (Or its equivalent.)

When you look at the number of votes on an individual post you can also click that to see who the "voters" were. When you read through a thread and see a post got a lot of votes it tends to show that is a post with good content you may want to pay attention to. By looking at who voted it can also give an idea of others with credibility that agree with the content as well. 

When I look at posts about tax lien/deed info, and I see @Ned Carey  voted for it I might give it some more credibility since I know that is something he is very experienced and knowledgeable about.

Originally posted by @Sylvia B. :

10 votes on a post gets you a gold star. (Or its equivalent.)