Why isn't everyone buying and renting mobile homes? what am I missing?

29 Replies

If you missed my other post. I am new and will probably have a few questions while I am studying and analyzing deals the next few days. One question I have right now is whats the down side to buying mobile homes for buy and hold rentals? They seem to good to be true. The only thing I can think of is because they might not appreciate like a normal house does? But so what? the cash flow is threw the roof. Or maybe you cant get as much for rent in a mobile home as you can a house? Whats the deal? As far as cash flow goes they seem like a no brainer. I have found some very reasonable 3/2s and 2/2s compared to houses their same size. When I calculate the numbers they seem to be a pretty crazy to me, but like I said I am learning and am a little skeptical when something seems to good to be true. Would like to hear some input. Thanks!

They are not as durable. Financing them isn't as easy. And then there is this additional recurring expense called lot rent. And some communities want occupants to be approved by the community / association. 

Not to mention the stigma that some attach to this (they use terms like "trailer trash").

@Jacob Knowles

I think @Steve Babiak hit the nail on the head here.  The durability of these units combined with the lot rent makes this a niche in the market that many are not interested in.

I feel the best way to be successful with mobile homes is buying a piece of land that is zoned to allow several units.  Pour a slab and add a trailer to it when you can, and either rent them out or sell them.  Either way you will be collecting the lot rent.