Will Wholesalers Work With Bank Financed Buyers?

8 Replies

Hi-

I'm trying to figure out my strategy to rehab my first house. I think For my situation I could get a conventional mortgage and fund the down payment & rehab costs myself. But now I need to find a deal! I don't think my strength is in the marketing end, so I was thinking I would like to work with a wholesaler, but it seems like wholesalers work with cash buyers only. An I mistaken in thi belief?

A couple of problems. Wholesalers don't usually have the time to work through a buyer's financing, and they'll want a decent non refundable EM. Also, you likely can't get conventional on something needing rehab.

@Account Closed I am in your boat. I am new to all of this too. I would continue networking with people on BP and tell everyone what your doing. In the last week of my new journey I've connected with a few friends and family that will be potential investors, I am a GC so I will take care of rehab, and read as much as I can on this site. Good luck, just keep networking and looking for houses.

Julie as Wayne pointed out a wholesaler would generally not have the time to wait on the 30+ days someone getting a retail loan would need to have. You might not have to have pure cash, but usually at least a private or hard money loan is needed for the speed.

The bigger point, as Wayne also said, is that more often than not the reason that someone is wholesaling a property is because it won't qualify for a conventional mortgage based on condition. It is certainly possible to get a purely cosmetic flip property that will qualify for a mortgage but within a 45min drive of Wayland I have seen about the same number of those as I have flying unicorns in the same area...

@Shaun Reilly I will have to keep my eyes out for those unicorns around here. ;-)