MLS 2.0

9 Replies

This question may be a bit down in the weeds but has anyone experience with a usable, next generation MLS or Loopnet/CoStar successor? I liken the post, search, and viewing capabilities of the current state of the art to something out of the 1960's. I would like to prototype an improved service that's community-driven and easy to use across the various user constituencies. I'm looking for feedback and inspiration. What better audience to provide this than the BiggerPockets community?

@Stephen Bjorgan I am a broker in the Dallas area and I would say our MLS is ancient and anything but user friendly. It doesn't even work on my MAC. I have to use a virtual windows app to run it. And forget using it on my ipad or iphone. Even the data display on my website is bad.

Please develop something that is user friendly and more up to date....you might get rich :)

@Account Closed Are you using ntreis listings?? If you have a MAC there's a specific mls for it and it's called ntreis fusion. I find it works a WHOLE LOT better then the ntreis listings

I was talking to a Realtor who is on the Metrotex board last week and he said that the mls was getting an update/overhaul in a couple of months. I would assume it would fix the Mac and app issues.

However, I do not know if this is just the Dallas mls or if the backbone is the same across the US.

@Jimmy Watson I think it's just the Dallas MLS. I have used the Austin MLS and it was much updated than ours here. I am looking forward to the upgrade. I hope it does work better on my Mac.

In Austin we use Actris (we have fusion too) for MLS. I really love actris and think it's a fantastic program. It does the job well and has a lot of bells and whistles and you're able to use a lot of shortcuts/etc. to do things very quickly if you want.