Snowbirding in AZ

6 Replies

So I am considering becoming a snowbird. I have family near Phoenix in Surprize and Goodyear. Would it be a smart investment to buy in this area?

We would only want to live here in the winter so I am not forseeing it being a good rental income for us unless we choose not to come down here for a winter. I guess I could offer it as a rental on airBnB during summer if anybody wants it... Thoughts?

Hello Brianna,

I have some thoughts and experience with that. Your age? (just kidding, but there is a reason I asked).Many of the snowbirds want to be around other snowbirds and that means age restricted community. 55 and over with a couple waivers for over 40.

12 years ago, wifey and I bought a VERY small park model in Palm Creek Golf and RV Resort. It did NOT include lot. Our space fees started at around 4K per year. This year they were over 6K. We were still ok. This was on the 18th green of the course and we only paid about 60K for it. We never spent over 3 months in a year there and some years, no time at all.

Because of the location, it rented VERY easy to Canadians and Northerners. We always rented it enough to pay all fees and costs annually. We were able to use 3-4 months during the winter free. I like free. This season we rented to the same couple for the 3rd year and received $2400 per month, and we stayed in it 10-15/1-15.

We decided to consolidate 3 homes to buy and move to The Villages, FL (most fantastic place for retirees on earth, period.We got in the 50's when we sold AZ in Jan so really had a 12 year cash flow neutral situation with lots of great free fun and memories.

there are a lot of people buying here in the Villages and using as rentals. That seems to be successful for them, but I'm not one of those.

I think if you did it this way, it would be great. If you have other questions, shoot them my way. Rich