Flipping out of State/Midwest contacts?

18 Replies

Hello,

I am new to BP and real estate investing. I live in Alaska and currently buying my first four-plex to hold for passive income. I really want to start flipping houses, but it takes a lot of cash to get into homes up here not to mention the high construction costs. I am originally from the Midwest and considering investing out there, but concerned about doing a flip with all that distance. I would have to build a team I trust out there, but don't know anyone in the business in that area.

My question is has anyone had success at flipping homes from a distance.

What are your feelings regarding the markets in the downriver Michigan area, Ohio and Indiana? I am from Michigan and have family in Indiana, so I am considering focusing on those areas.

Does anyone have a referral for a realtor, investor or contractor in these areas that are willing to work with an out of state investor?

thank you, Ann Marie

I think you're on the right track Ann. There's definitely people that invest in buy and holds and flips from a distance. Build up the contacts here on BP and you'll have a team in no time... well maybe a bit of time... 

Start small and then scale up as you gain experience.

@Ann Marie Garber  welcome to the site.

Hi @Ann Marie Garber  

Welcome to BP!!

I am investing in NW Indiana (Lake County) area. I am doing mainly buy and hold investments. I live in Chicago, but hold all of my properties in NW Indiana (about 30-45 minutes drive from downtown Chicago).

As for flipping properties in this area, it has gotten a little competitive to find a good property to flip. There are still good deals for buy and hold, but the flip market has dried up somewhat. Most of the decent properties that hit the market get multiple offers and in some cases are taken by an individual who is going to do most of the work on the house himself and thus can afford to pay a little higher price.