Miami Beach Studio

6 Replies

Hello Everyone,

I'm a young professional who is relocating to Miami. I don't currently own any real estate but eager to begin investing. I want to live in Miami Beach, and I'm looking at studio condos. I'd like to be the owner/occupier while I save for a downpayment on another property (1yr goal), then rent it.

It looks like you could pick one up for 80-90k and they rent (from craiglist research only) for about $1,100 a month. I know I'll have other expenses... HOA, insurance, taxes, maintenance, but it seems fairly reasonable that I could get one of these to cashflow $100/month. As a back up plan for vacancy, I would plan to use the unit as a vacation rental on airbnb.

Anyone have experience investing in studios or the Miami Beach area? Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Tyler

In my opinion $100 is kind of low for cashflow. Its really risky, especially if your saving for another property. I say shop around for something a little more cheaper. That maybe you can live and build on so that you can make more cash flow. Now if you turn it into a vacation property, then the rent you can boost to about 3k a month, depending on area and what you invested into the property. Vacation homes always go for more, because its temp for the guests. Hope this gave you a little idea, Im not a pro either but I just like to put my input out and see what you feel. Reply just so I know what your thinking.