Qualifying for a 1st time buyer loan

5 Replies

Hi BP forums,

I am very new to REI. I am interested in purchasing a multifamily home in Los Angeles CA or surrounding areas. The idea is to occupy one unit and rent the other units out.

I have never purchased a home and my credit is very poor at the moment so I am sure I have a lot of work to do before I can qualify. I am wondering what type of credit is needed for this type of purchase and if there are any first time buyer opportunities I can look into or any other creative financing ideas that may be of interest for this type of purchase. 

I would greatly appreciate any feedback. 

Thank you!

@Daniel Mawyin 

Welcome! A good personal credit rating is huge so I suggest get started on that. 

Erik Kaplan at THD Credit consulting does fantastic work and will give you pointers on where to begin. He is Los Angeles.  Reach out to him with your issues and see what he suggests.

https://www.linkedin.com/company/3363777?trk=prof-...

All the best!!

Promotion
Sundae
Property Marketplace
Find Professionally Vetted Properties from Motivated Sellers
Eliminate the need to hunt for houses again. We bring your next investment opportunity to you.

@Daniel Mawyin Not sure what the problem is on your credit, but it will take you a couple of months to fix it (unless it is bankruptcy or short sale issue). You need FICO score to be above 580 to qualify for FHA with 3.5% down. I usually see a couple of good 2-4 unit buildings a month in Los Angeles that seem like a smart investment. If you're doing conventional loan with 25% down, you won't have a problem finding even more of them. If you're doing FHA that's when things get tricky, especially on 3 and 4 units.

We got started with personal properties at 23. First time home buyer loans are a great way to get your foot in the door. Therefore due to their leniency they  tend to be "very" a great way to get started.