Skip to content
Buying & Selling Real Estate

User Stats

Votes
Alex SImon
  • Investor
  • Howey In The Hills, FL
Votes |
Any way to get around FHA owner occupancy restrictions?

Alex SImon
  • Investor
  • Howey In The Hills, FL
Posted Feb 14 2015, 21:26

I'm new around here and if you've taken notice of me over the past few days, you'll see that I tend to post some newbie questions.  This time I've been able to do a little homework and my question is a little less obtuse.  So here's the situation:

I'm a contractor overseas. I work year-round in Saudi Arabia where everything sucks but they pay you lots of money. My target properties are 2-4 unit rentals that I plan to buy and hold, preferably with units already leased. To this end, I want to take advantage of an FHA, Fannie Mae or Freddie Mac low down payment loan to get started with rental properties in the 2-4 unit range. Now as all you seasoned investors know, those loans require owner occupancy of the property as a principal residence, which is not really feasible for me because (A) I can't physically be there all the time since I'm overseas and (B) the property in question is meant to generate revenue, so even just taking one of the units off the market will cut my monthly profits down to a pittance.