Making an offer on SFH with a "30 day study period" clause?

10 Replies

Hello

My agent suggested I make an offer on a single family home with a "30 day study period" clause.  She said this would give me time to go to the county and do my homework, and if things didn't work out with the county I could bail on the offer.

Wanted to get thoughts from anyone who's used "study period" in their offers before.  I haven't heard of such a clause.

Miz

I think you should find a new agent.

Sellers do some crazy things sometimes so someone may be ok with it but the majority of sellers would likely laugh at that offer.

@Lynn M.  

@James Wise

thanks for your advice to this newbie.   Would you guys mind elaborating a little so I can understand why that is laughable or why I should find a new agent?

Thanks

Miz

I am also an agent and I have never heard of a "study" period.  I believe she is referring to an "option" period. I find it strange the agent is not using the proper term.

I also have not heard of a "study" clause. Is your agent referring to a "Due Diligence" Clause? This is clause is common and will protect you as you do some research of the property. You may not get the 30 days but most sellers will allow 21 days, which is also enough time to secure your financing.

Hope this helps.

Originally posted by @Manish A. :

@Lynn M.  

@James Wise

thanks for your advice to this newbie.   Would you guys mind elaborating a little so I can understand why that is laughable or why I should find a new agent?

Thanks

Miz

A seller is not going to want to let you tie up their property for 30 days for such an open ended clause.

If I am selling you the property I am going to tell you to go to the county and do your homework, when your homework is done make me an offer.

You can submit an offer with specific clauses. If you want to do a home inspection that is fine as long as it is done in a reasonable amount of time. Usually 3-10 days.