Thoughts on having agents show me a property with no intention to buy?

11 Replies

Hello,

I don’t know if there’s any sort of ethical issues with this but since I’m just starting out, I want start looking at properties in person. I wouldn’t have any intention to buy at the moment even though I will only look at properties which I could actually put a down payment right now (if that makes sense).

I’m trying to ramp up for when I actually am ready to buy. I’m focusing on doing the up front analysis and number crunching and now want to see properties. Should I disclose I don’t have any intention to buy or that I’m a newbie (they can probably tell)? What happens after I see the property, will the agent keep following up with me asking if I want it (I don’t want to deal with that)?

I don’t think there’s anything wrong with asking to see the properties b/c I will build a rapport with the agents who may very well get my money one day. Would love to get your thoughts…

Tell the agent you don't have any money, and see if they are still willing to show you a property. (I personally wouldn't bother after the 2nd or 3rd property once it became clear you are not in a position to buy. But I'm not a realtor.) Why not go after open houses instead? What are you hoping to see in a tour of the home that you can't see in pictures online?

Hi Mark...