What state to buy my first investment property to cash flow?

108 Replies

Hi Everyone - I'm new to BP and new to REI. I live in Southern California, as the market is super inflated. I am looking to make my first real estate investment as I have enough cash to either buy a cheap place in another state (40-50k) or buy a place that's a bit more expensive and get a loan as I have great credit.

Can anyone help with some advise on what state I should look into with good cash flow opportunities?  I appreciate all the help guys!

MODERATOR:  ANY ADS IN THIS THREAD WILL BE REMOVED WITHOUT NOTICE.  THAT INCLUDES OFFERS OF PROPERTIES, PROMOTIONS OF YOUR MEETUP, OR "CONTACT ME, I CAN HELP" POSTS.

There are any number of states.  Most of them are in the midwest.  Michigan would be my choice...as is the choice of many other CA investors.

Thanks @Joe Villeneuve appreciate the advise sir.  What zip codes do you look at in Michigan?

Originally posted by @Neil Patrick :

Thanks @Joe Villeneuve appreciate the advise sir.  What zip codes do you look at in Michigan?

Too many to list.  I'm a west sider, so I look at these...as a start:

48239, 48240, 48197, 48150, 48152, 48154, ...and more

Hi Everyone - I'm new to BP and new to REI. I live in Southern California, as the market is super inflated. I am looking to make my first real estate investment as I have enough cash to either buy a cheap place in another state (40-50k) or buy a place that's a bit more expensive and get a loan as I have great credit.

Can anyone help with some advise on what state I should look into with good cash flow opportunities?  I appreciate all the help guys!

I have often thought about looking in other areas that are cheaper also.   It's tough for me to pull the trigger with investing long distance.  Joe V has posted several times about how low the home prices are in Michigan.  He also stated they are not low income properties which is key for me.  I would avoid low income properties.