How many Properties do you look at before Buying?

23 Replies

Hello everyone,

I am new to real estate investing, and have been reading some of Robert Kiyosaki's books on investing.

For real estate, he says he follows the 100 to 10 to 3 to 1 method. He looks at 100 properties, makes offers on 10 of them, gets 3 of them accepted, and purchases 1 property.

What do you guys think about the system he uses? How do you guys go about viewing and buying properties?

Best,

Hermilo

Try to take what RK says with a grain of salt. That goes for any of the so-called "gurus". In my market there aren't 100 properties to look at. I look at enough to give me an idea of whats out there and I have my investment criteria. When I find a deal that works I make an offer. That could mean looking at two properties and putting an offer on one. I may look at one property and make an offer. Who wants to look at 100 properties just to settle on one? I personally dont have that kind of time.

I make an offer on nearly every property I look at, and in many cases a full asking price, if not a little above to ensure we get it, especially when it's too keenly priced. Very rarely do I walk away from a house without an offer at least made on it.

Here's the thing - why am I going to waste my time vetting properties that are not my target properties, either on price or location? The cost of flooring is fixed, the cost of a new kitchen is fixed, cost of a new bathroom is fixed, windows are the same price they ever were, and so on.

Got better things to be doing than wasting time looking round houses I have no intentions of buying.

But then, I have an extremely narrow focus with my cash buy and hold strategy.

Since the start of the year I have analyzed one property per day.  

I have several properties already but it only takes a few minutes even to plugin to the BP calculator.  

It has been great practice just a little bit everyday.  So you will know at a glance if it worth investigating further