Builders Risk Insurance

12 Replies

Does anyone have any recommendation for builders risk insurance.  I contacted one company and was quoted $6805 for 12 months.  I am new to this arena but this seems awfully high.  I have a home in DC I inherited and will renovate it and include a basement apartment.  Finding builders insurance is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

Hi Mimi,

I've taken out builder's risk insurance policies with the following agent.  The quote you received is ridiculously high, in my opinion.  Six months of insurance on a standard DC rowhome generally runs me $600-$800.  

Ian Higgins, LUTCF| Managing Partner & Principal Agent| Licensed in MD, DC, VA, PACongressional Insurance Associates | 12505 Park Potomac Ave Suite 220 Potomac MD, 20854Cell: (240) 308-1380 | Business: (240) 912-4150 | Fax: (301) 540-0895Email: [email protected] | Website: www.InsureCongressional.com

Hi @Mimi J. - It sounds like Robert has a solution for you. I was going to throw out that just across the river here in Virginia I was able to get a Vacant Home Insurance policy from Farmers (the policy was actually underwritten by Foremost Insurance, which I first heard about here on BiggerPockets) when I did my first rehab. The cost was $138 per month and was based on a value of the house (not the property, aka land + house). 

I was very clear with my Farmer's Agent as to the fact that it was a vacant home that was going to be extensively renovated. FWIW, Farmer's was the only one of the major insurance carriers who offered such a plan when I was researching it. Things could have changed since last year.