Property Opportunity for my Parents

5 Replies

Hello my fellow Investors,

I had a question about an opportunity that may have just presented itself.

I am new to investing o I am not quite sure if this will work or not.

My parents have been renting their home for over 10 years at 800/month. The landlord has now told them that he is looking to sell the house and offered my dad the house for $110,000 if he wanted to stay in it.

The house needs a lot of work done to it. The house right across the street was just purchsed for $75,000.00.

Is this an opportunity for an investment property that can save my parents from having to move? 

Thanks!

Cameron, I'd advise you be careful when mixing investing and family... You don't want to make a bad investment. If the house across the street sold for 75K why would you pay 110K for one that needs a lot of work (assuming the houses are comparable)? Do you plan to charge them $800 a month? That's less than a 1% return you can do much better than that on a rental property. 

If you are willing to make a sub-par investment in order to make your parents happy, I say go for it, no harm in that. But this doesn't sound like a situation where you can make them and your bank account happy. 

thank you for your reply Chris!

I should have been more specific.

I would offer the landlord less than 110k of course.

The house is not in the greatest shape. I was thinkingb about getting it appraised before making an offer. I'm thinking somewhere around 80k. 

Then getting work done on it and getting my parents qualified for a mortgage and selling it to them.

Something like that

Before you do anything or even make an offer make sure they are qualified for a mortgage.

I have seen so people go through picking out a house before they are even approved for a mortgage.  Only to find out they aren't approved.