Is this a good deal?

29 Replies

Hello,

I am new to investing so I would love to hear some feedback on an opportunity I have come across.

I am looking at single family home that has been converted to duplex (1,990 sq ft).  The property is in central Florida, about 10 blocks from the beach.  It's in a fair area, not great but not a war zone.  Both units are rented currently.  The first unit (1 bedroom 1 bath) is rented for $650 per month.  Second unit is 3/1 and rented out at $900 per month.  Owner pays utilities $400/month.  

It's an owner financed only option.  $20,000 down and $414 per month for 30 years.  

Total monthly rent:  $1,550

Mortgage:  $414

Utilities:  $400

Property Tax:  $87

Insurance:  $70

Vacancy & Repair:  $310

Net profit monthly:  $279

I plan on doing a through inspection to make sure there is nothing major going on.  Also, i plan on refinancing at a much lower interest rate so that the mortgage amount is lower.  

What do you guys think?  Is this a good deal?  Thank you in advance for your time and help!

@Sheena Varghese

The cash flow is a light after adding a 10% management fee in there.

I'm never a fan of places where the owner pays electric bills.  Up here it's "leave the windows open and crank the heat to 80!"  Is there some sort of cap on the amount they can spend each month?

I assume the asking price is about 100k?  Leaving you with ~80k on the note.  Do you know what the most recent appraisal was?  It will take a while for you to become conventional refi eligible if you are only at 20% equity.  

Is the place a good deal?  Owner financing doesn't make it automatically so.  Could you come up with another $5000 down and drop the monthly mortgage payment further?