Credit Inquiries

13 Replies

Hello BP!

I am about to close on my second MFR. I have some questions as I am pulling a LOC on the properties etc.

I have already located a local bank willing to take a second on my current properties. Hopefully will be moving ahead with that shortly.  

My question is how do you get past the credit inquiries and new loans killing your score.  I realize only %10 of your actual score is affected with inquiries, but as I move ahead in this game their starting to pile up. Along with new loans.

Is their anything that I can do to help this, as currently I have close to a 700 score from all three CRA's and is like it to continue to go up not down.

Thanks in advance.

I'm not sure I can offer too much since I am a newbie but I am interested in what other may have to say about the topic. This has been a big concern of mine as I get started. Are you sure it's the inquiries that are hurting you and not the credit utilization ratio?  As you said, inquiries only count for a small part of your score and your credit/debt ratio carries more weight. I would imagine someone would have a high ratio if they are continuously leveraging equity. I look forward to seeing what others have to say, and hopefully some ways to avoid this. 

Oh I'm sure their are other factors keeping my score low aswell.  But I know everytime I have a hard inquiry it takes a couple points and obviously a new mortgage with a 0 history takes some aswell.

@Derek Woods

I had the same problem during accumulation mode.  I'm still in accumulation mode but several years ago I had both guns blazing accumulating portfolio loans to keep me ball debt growing.