1 house on 2 lots

2 Replies

BP. There is a property that has become available from one of the builders I do work for. It a tri-level house that sits on 2 lots in a town called flossmoor il. The owner is selling it for 235k I know I can get it down to at least 200k. Is this a good buy. My idea is to rehab the existing house and build a new house on 2nd lot. With my building performance background would do both projects with the goal of making it energy efficient. Which will perform and be a lot healthier that the average house. By me being a carpenter I could do a lot of work with my crew. I looked at what existing houses were selling for in that area and for 2 story, 4 bed and 3 bath it was selling for 245k. Would this be a good investment?

is the second lot buildable ? You need to check zoning to make sure the lot is buildable - many times a home on a double lot may encroach on the second lot, thus causing you to knock it down in order to have two buildable lots. Just because a home is on a double lot doesn't mean it's a buildable lot

Its easy to start thinking what we can or would do when it comes to lots. First you say there are two lots.

. Have you verified this with your city building, planning, assessor or civil engineering services?

. If there are two lots and the present house is sitting over both lots will you have to move the structure over onto its own lot in order to make room for a second structure on the second lot

. Are there any easements on the property or specifically on the second lot

. As mentioned is the second lot buildable? Perhaps it serves as the natural drainage for the surrounding area and therefore no building is allowed on it.

. Check with all the needed services, will the second house have sewer, water, gas, and electric available to it.