seller financing

6 Replies

What's the best way to find seller financing and should I tell them about my plan for the house like having it for a rental. Newbie here :)

It's hard to say there's a 'best plan', because I feel like each seller is different.

I think your best process is:

1) Identify their problem

2) Try to help them solve it

Maybe the problem is repair, taxes, distance, disinterest ... maybe they don't have a problem at all (maybe not great candidates for seller financing).  You can't just go in guns blazing, you have to offer them something they don't have in exchange for the house that they do have.

Be friendly, helpful, and understanding.  Like I said, I don't think the process is as formulaic as "Do A, B, C, Profit!".  It will take some thought, and some effort (especially at first), but once you know what to look for, you'll be able to accomplish what you want much more quickly.

I agree with Jeremy that you need to try and solve the seller's problem, if they even have one. Find out their motivation level. Most stuff on the MLS won't be offering seller financing. You can always ask though. A better source of leads would be to market to people who own their houses free and clear and who are not owner occupants. Finally, I don't think it matters to the seller if you tell them you are looking to use it for a rental. Nothing to hide there at all.

Thanks for the advice, did not think about identify their problem. I well diffidently keep that in mind and thanks again for the advice Jeremy and Darren

Make sure that you have a steady number of deal flow and you're going for motivated sellers who are ready to do a deal ASAP. 

1. As others have said, find the "pain" first. Then your job is to be the one to solve this "pain" for them. You will be communicating directly to the needs of the seller. 

2. Often FSBO's work better or a property that can't get financed in its current condition.