Is the 2% rule possible in Orlando FL?

14 Replies

I am new to REI and have been practicing analyzing deals to get a feel for my ideal price range and rent targets. I am getting no where close to the 2% rule and rarely even hitting 1%. I realize these are just rules of thumb, but I am wondering if this is typical for Orlando? What are other Orlando investors getting?

I am looking to buy a small multi-family property near downtown Orlando area - College Park, Delany Park, Thornton, the Milk District, Audubon Park etc. My logic is that these are places that I would want to live -  and I am the type of tenant I want to attract. (Mid to late twenties, working professional, able to pay rent but not quite ready to buy a home, I would feel comfortable managing them etc.). I also feel these are areas that would likely appreciate. 

I would love to hear from other local investors to know if I should hold out for a deal that comes close to the 2% rule, 1% rule or just throw these rules out the window for Orlando?

@Amie Lamb  I live west of Orlando but do invest in the Orlando area and finding rental properties that fill the 2% rentals are very very hard to find even a 1% is difficult to find but they are out there. Please note that The 1% and 2% rule should not be called a rule but used as a guide line

@Amie Lamb

From what I've seen in Orlando, certainly the 2% rule (or close) does work. However, it's not a neat little package like some other places in the country. Elsewhere, you might find places that just need a coat of paint and they are rent-ready and they satisfy the 2% rule. However, in Orlando, it seems like you need to make your own value. For instance, if you find a property that is in an area that rents for $1,000 a month, and it is asking $40,000, it will likely need at least $20,000 in rehab. Not quite the 2% rule, but it is close (1.7%).