Where should I start??

6 Replies

I am new to the whole real estate game.

I currently reside in Chattanooga, TN.

Chattanooga is consistently growing and I want a piece of the action, the only problem is that for my budget ( I don't have any investors) the only thing I can afford is in an "up and coming" neighborhood. Is the neighborhood worth the risk when trying to get my feet wet or should I wait and find a property in a better neighborhood for more money?

Thanks

The thing that you have to understand about money is that if its not moving, not growing then its losing value, losing purchasing power, period. What ever you can do to get your money to grow, the sooner the better. You have have to have an exit strategy, how you will get out of the initial building, sell, lease option it, rent it, refinance it etc. 

It's probably better to start in an "up and coming" neighborhood since you'll be required to learn more about rehabs, working with contractors, or, better yet, how to do the jobs yourself. That hands-on experience will arm you to know what reasonable timelines and costs are. Also, distressed properties can offer higher profits, but usually at the cost of more time, work, and investment in initial rehabbing and so on. It's also a bit riskier since you can be overwhelmed, but you can also be overwhelmed on more expensive properties in better neighborhoods, too. 

If you're comfortable doing general construction already then that's great, otherwise I'd suggest asking local investors for referrals to local contractors you could call just in case. You might also expect that everything will cost double (again, just when you're starting out) so you have a buffer.