Investors wanting to get their RE license should read...

69 Replies

I've been licensed for about a year now and had been working under a broker for about 8 months.

I just did my 5th yellow letter campaign in my area and an agent received one and they called and complained to their area president who in tern called my broker. Even though though I broke no rules, the threat and unwanted attention alone was enough for my broker to drop me. I followed his advice about how to disclose and how to stay compliant with my mailings, yet some uptight ignorant agent got all worked up for nothing and has caused me problems.

So once licensed, find a broker that's fully on board with what you do and keep them well informed so they can fight for you in case this happens too. 

Good luck to everyone.

What was the actual complaint they were bringing up?

I am a agent in California and I use to sell my own deals.One time I had a tight deal and offered a flat fee to the selling agent One day I get a call from an agent complaining that I am lowering commissions for other agents .I told the agent she has the option to not sell this home but there are plenty of agents who don't mind a $4000 fee. I never heard from my broker or this agent again

@Dan Mackin, no idea, can't get any info from my broker anymore. I'm guessing it's a baseless claim of me trying to take a listing or something. 

@Steven Picker, sounds fair to me. When you say you never heard from your broker after that, does that mean he dropped you or stopped bothering you?

Welcome to BP.

Did you use the famous tag line "this letter / flyer is NOT for the purpose soliciting the properties that are already listed. If your property is listed with a real estate broker, kindly disregards it".

Hope it helps.

Hi James,
I used a variation of that, yes.
Allen

Originally posted by @James Syed:

Welcome to BP.