Multifamily Exit Strategy

2 Replies

I hear so much about the importance of an exit strategy. However, is an exit strategy even necessary for buy and hold properties (multifamily deals) ?

The seller I've been talking with seems open to seller financing. I was hoping to just get cash flow and experience from this property (I'm very new to real estate investing. this would be my first property). The property is a duplex and one of the units is already occupied [tenant is on section8]. With both units rented, it cash flows really well. I'm always in the area, as I have family in this area, so I would definitely be able to keep my eyes on it at all times. I guess my main question is, is it a good idea to buy a property specifically for cash flow, knowing there's minimal equity ?

I'll take a shot at this. 

Of course.  Cash flow is king.  ROE, cash on cash etc rocks. You can sell the deal the same way you bough it after banking cash flow for a stretch if you want to. Do the numbers on what your return would be against the amount of money you have in the deal.  Don't kid yourself about expenses.  A duplex "should" be easy to determine.  Do it.  Have you read around this forum about how to calc expenses?

Originally posted by @Joshua White :

I hear so much about the importance of an exit strategy. However, is an exit strategy even necessary for buy and hold properties (multifamily deals) ?