Purchasing First Property in Upstate NY

16 Replies

Hello,

I am going to be purchasing my first rental property shortly and am very excited to get started but want to set everything up correctly right from the start. I have a few properties in my sights. There is some debate as to what is the best way to purchase the property to protect your personal assets. Should I form an LLC or take out a landlord policy from an insurance company that could give me the coverage I need. Also is it worth the money to consult a CPA and Real Estate Attorney before I begin? Any advice on how to begin with all of this and if going LLC is the way to go any advice based on experience setting one of those up would be appreciated as well.

Thank you

@Jeremy D.

Welcome to BP! You have come to the right place for your real estate questions. There is lots of debate on here about forming an LLC for your rental properties. I am just starting out myself, and have decided for at least the first few properties I will buy and hold in my name. On the insurance policy for my personal residence, I increased the liability to a million, and may consider an umbrella policy. After maybe 3-4 properties I will form an LLC and transfer the properties into the LLC. One thing I have heard though is to make sure in your initial financing that this is allowed, as some banks will call the note due in full when you do that.

As for spending money on consulting a CPA or attorney I wouldn't. Once the business is larger their fees for advice are invaluable, but just starting out the money can be spent on better things. A lot of your questions on how to structure your business can be answered through BP. I don't know if there is a REIA around your area, but I belong to one where I'm at. We have a very good real estate attorney and a few CPA's as members, so I just ask them questions when I go to the meetings.