Moving to Detroit

42 Replies

Hello, My wife and I are considering selling our house in Denver, moving to Detroit, and investing in real estate. I have 15 years experience in home construction and renovation, but limited experience in investing. We will have around 150k cash to invest and I plan on doing most of the renovations myself. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

@Dustin Zentz What type of real estate investing are you planning on doing when you get to Detroit?

This post has been removed.

This post has been removed.

Do you want to live in Detroit?

Here was my answer to a question asking how to invest $150,000 that I posted as my third post ever on this web site. I post it here again since you are specifically considering moving to Detroit.

"I lived in Orange County California (Tustin) where $150,000 will get you $4000 a month in cash flow easy.

Just one major problem it has a minus sign in front of it!

I now live in Michigan where $150,000 can easily provide $20,000 a month in positive cash flow!"

Dustin, welcome to BP. What part of Michigan are you considering. I live in the southeast part of the state and the opportunies are amazing my friend and it is the same in most parts of the state.

Originally posted by @Dustin Zentz :
Hello, My wife and I are considering selling our house in Denver, moving to Detroit, and investing in real estate. I have 15 years experience in home construction and renovation, but limited experience in investing. We will have around 150k cash to invest and I plan on doing most of the renovations myself. Any advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Dustin, I moved to the Detroit area to invest in both metro and the city of Detroit. My advise is have a plan of attack and make it a goal to build a business team right away when you get here. This will ensure your success  and catch you up to the market with those with boots on the ground in place.