What's the next step in short sale?

17 Replies

Hi everyone,

I'm super new to short sales and I'm just learning as I go. I'm not sure what to do next and would like some feedback.

I have a property picked out. The owner of the property is willing to go through the short sale. I've been able to negotiate on the 2nd mortgage and they are willing to take a reduced amount. The owner is going to submit a letter of authorization to Wells Fargo which is 1st position soon.

After that is where I'm not clear on what to do? Do I write up an offer and send it to the owner? Or Do I talk to Wells Fargo first and see if they will accept a lower amount?

Looking forward to reading your feedback.

Thanks

Surprised you got any response with the second, for whatever it's worth, but with WF the property is going to have to be listed, find an experienced agent, and go from there. The second mtg is only going to get what the first gives them, unless you kick in the difference, and sometimes you're not even allowed. There are set in stone rules for how much the second can get, depending on who owns the first..FANNIE, Freddie, FHA insured, HAFA, private, etc. trust me, the best way for you to make sure this deal fails, is to try to do this yourself. You just have no idea, of what you don't about how to close a short sale.

Thanks for the response Wayne. I'm fine with losing this deal I'll just move on to the next. I'm still learning. So what would the next step? :-)