Atlanta GA / Birmingham AL

15 Replies

Hi everyone,

I'm an Aussie looking to invest in The U.S. for the first time. Atlanta and Birmingham have been recommended. I'm looking for longterm buy and hold investments. My question is, which areas are safer, less crime and have overall stability in these two markets? I'd be looking at B class turnkey investments. Also, is 70-100K a good medium price for safe B class investments assuming the numbers make sense?

Kevin

This post has been removed.

This post has been removed.

Hi @Account Closed

I am new to this as well. I'm currently buying my first property in Birmingham.  I didn't do too much research on Atlanta but from what I understand it's more expensive than Birmingham, in general.  Birmingham has experienced some decline in growth but seems to be on the rise!  Atlanta seems to be a great place to invest as well. It's more expensive but also might be more stable.  Message me if you'd like info on who we are are buying from in Bham.  There are a lot of people willing to take advantage of new investors. Choosing the right people to work with is key.  Again, Im new at this so hopefully you get more insight from others here!

@Account Closed  $70 - 100k is too low for Class B residential in Atlanta.  That's more like C in the suburbs.  Most of the suburbs aren't going to appreciate much unless they're close to the City.   

In the City of Atlanta, Class B would be closer to $150k - $200k.  $1200 - $1600/month rent.  

Thanks for the info Rick. Quite a few agents have told me that 70K would be a good starting price in Atlanta for B class. Unfortunately, it seems, this is not the case. B class housing is certainly what I'm after. My thinking is that it would have less headaches since I don't actually live in the country. I'm also looking at Indianapolis. Seems like Indy is also a stable and high cash-flowing market.

Indianapolis is a great market. any questions feel free to ask! 

Originally posted by @Kevin Thielking: