How to Get Started in the House-Flipping Industry

6 Replies

Hello all,

I'm new to this. However, I have been analyzing the house-flipping industry for the past two years. Seeing so many success stories and networking take place through this industry excites me. Now, I want to take action and start up in this industry. 

Without any previous hands-on experience, I am turning to you guys for any feedback or help you may have for me.

Thank you very much,

Daniel J Walker

Hey Daniel, welcome to the show my friend! It is awesome that you are deciding to get started in real estate. I suggest you listen to the BiggerPockets podcasts for starters. Contains plenty of great interviews with RE investors sharing their knowledge about real estate. Check out the casts pertaining to wholesales. Wholesale deals are a great way to find good deals on homes so that you may rake in a high profit.

-There is a whole lot more to the process than just that however. I'm sure you will find guidance by just engaging in the BP community and asking questions. If you would like to chat I would be glad to help steer you in the right direction.
Good luck!

Best,
Blake Dalessio

Use all the resources BiggerPockets has to offer.  If you're wanting to get started in flipping, look through the podcasts for the ones that are mainly about flipping (J Scott on episode 10 is a good start) and also browse the forums every day. There's a forum category dedicated to rehabbing and flipping.

I would strongly recommend picking up a copy of J Scott's books published by BiggerPockets, "The Book on Flipping Houses" and "The Book on Estimating Rehab Costs". 

Hi Daniel, welcome to biggerpockets, find a mentor that is already doing what you want to do (Buy fix and flip, buy and hold, wholesale) Define your way forward and take action, do not get hung up in analysis paralysis. 

Best of luck to you and happy investing!!!!!

@Daniel Walker flipping can be lucrative if done correctly!