Brand New! ( Where to start?/Sharing my story)

5 Replies

Hello everyone!

My name is RK Rasos, and I'm a relatively new real estate agent. (And no...I'm not here to beg for referrals or anything).

In my first year as an agent, I've come to find that there are not many investor-friendly agents out there(or maybe I haven't met any). I do not want to be grouped with a bunch of low-information agents, so I've decided to focus a good deal of my time to learn as much about investing as possible. I'd love to provide my clients with the best service possible. I've listened to a couple of BP podcasts, and I plan on frequenting this forum A LOT.

I also plan on investing as soon as I have enough saved up. My parents own a few rental properties, and I definitely would feel comfortable have a couple(or a lot) of my own. I'm leaning towards the Buy-Rehab-Rent-Refi. approach, and then flips sprinkled in afterwards.

As someone who's relatively new, which direction would you point me? 

Which books should I read? 

What podcasts to listen to(other than BP)? 

Any general tips that you would give a newbie?

Maybe someone can post some informative links in the forum as well.

Thanks for taking the time to read the post...And even more thanks if you take some time to reply!

- RK

Welcome to BP!

I myself am taking my real estate courses right now, to help assist in my investing. I'm supposed to be done mid December, so I'm sure you could probably give me some guidance in that respect :)

As far as investing books I'm going to start with Brandon Turner's rental property books. I listened to the audio books and found it really easy to listen to, and it had a wealth of compiled information.

Hopefully you have read Robert Kiyosaki's almighty Rich Dad Poor Dad. He has a bunch of books but I have only read What the Rich Teach Their Kids About Money and Cashflow Quadrant. Both being great starting points.