Feeling a little lost as to the best way to proceed

8 Replies

I'm in the very early stages of educating myself as it relates to REI, but I've started thinking about what kind of path I want to follow because I believe it is important to have a goal, or at least a path, in mind.

That said, my short-to-mid term goal is to achieve 3k/month in passive income within the next 6 years. When I say passive, I mean as passive as possible.

I have considered multiple real estate strategies and I gravitate towards renting, because it seems to provide the lowest potential time investment after the systems are in place.

However, in my market, it seems like I am doing well to achieve $100/month in cash flow after all other expenses have been accounted for. Here's an example of a recent analysis that I did. Granted, I am still extremely new at analyses so there may be some inaccuracies, however, I am trying to be as conservative as reasonably possible (i.e., perhaps I am allocating too much to CapEx each month?).

Ideally, I would find a halfway decent deal on a multifamily so that I could house hack. That would, presumably, free me of a monthly rent payment and also, hopefully, provide a slight positive cash flow on top. To me, this seems to be the most powerful way that a beginner can start because of the fact that multiple units are being purchased at once for a single, low down payment with FHA, thus, more cash flow power (as opposed to buying a SFR).