Owner financing .... interest rates ?

11 Replies

Hi guys, I'm pretty new to BP and relatively new to Real estate investing, so if you guys have any suggestions and better ideas feel free to say it I'm pretty open minded to anyone's ideas as I am trying to learn along the way ...so here is my situation, I am currently sticking with multi family homes .. I'm looking at a couple multi-family properties where the owners are willing to do owner financing. These properties are in Central Connecticut. I am still in the process of negotiating a price and interest rate. I like to stick to the 5/5/5 offer rule .. so I offered 5% down, 5% interest, rate and 5 year balloon out. The owner looks like he is willing to negotiate ... he is selling his property for 240k @ 8% interest rate and 5 year Balloon out ... he owns the property free and clear. My question is, what do interest rates go for if one is willing to owner finance me preferably in (Connecticut) ?

Thank you guys in advance and also feel free to give me your opinions because this is my first time doing owner financing.

@Igor Gajic awesome plan. I do have a concern about the price you are paying? Have you done your due diligence with expenses and income? Have you gotten a professional opinion of value? If you are working with a real estate broker, I assume that all of this has been done with the property already. I like your 5/5/5 offer. Keeps it simple and is extremely reasonable. However, most owners are not motivated enough to hold the note on a "new investor" with hardly any "skin in the game." $5K on $240k represents about 2%, which doesn't leave any equity for him to pull out if he has to foreclose. PM if you want to chat. Always willing to help..

This post has been removed.

I would say 8% is reasonable. What is he amortizing at?