Probabte Wholesaling Tax Delinquency

3 Replies

Hello everyone! My name is Vanessa and  I am new to real estate investing. My business partner and I just started our own company and want to focus on Probabte Wholesaling. We have been marketing and finally got a call. We got information on the house and found out it actually has a tax delinquency since 2015. The person in charge of the estate does not know much about the house, they just inherited it. My question is, if they decided to go with us and we wholesale, how do we go about dealing with the tax delinquency? Does the owner pay that before they sign the house over to us? Or do they pay it off after they sell it to us with their profit money? 

Any advice is appreciated! I'm just trying to get as much information as I can. Thank you 

@Vanessa Gutierrez

Does the person who contacted you have legal capacity to sell the property. Was there a will? If so, does the heir (who will have to petition the court to be named PR) have Letters Testamentary. If not, does the PR have Letters of Administration?

It's the PR that you are going to have to deal with. As for the tax delinquency that's going to have to be paid unless you can negotiate a deep discount to purchase the property.

Are there any other heirs to the estate? Legally they would have an interest in the property as you would have to deal with them as well..

Mark Pedroza, Real Estate Agent in CA (#01858403)
1-415-786-6700

@Mark Pedroza

Hello Mark! Sorry for such a late response I was having issues with my Bigger Pockets Account and finally got it all worked out.