Having a "quality" website as an agent/realtor?

8 Replies

I am just getting into real estate and am working/planning my entry into the market here. How much time/effort/money are you putting in your websites if you have one at all?

I spent some time today scrolling through many of the local agents info pages looking to see what they are doing. Many don't have a website at all, most just have a very basic website with no real content and just a handful are miles above the rest with high quality sites.

I know some agents are still doing very well without a site but all of the agents with high quality sites seem to be killing it.

As a newbie I would love to know what more experienced agents here are doing?

Thanks you any info!

@Skip Gilliam Your website is one of the first places where prospects will go to check you out, so yes, you need a decent website.

At a minimum it should have an IDX feed with robust search capability, an "About Me", "Contact Me", client testimonials and some blog posts.

I use Agent Marketing.  In the past, I used BoomTown, which had a GREAT website but was hyper expensive.  WebsiteBox is very inexpensive but I thought the website itself was just OK.

Hopefully you have enough reserves set aside to start your business.

Many start on a shoestring budget.

It takes money commercial or residential to reinvest and keep up with changes in the industry and stay on the forefront of technology. Those seen as leaders or (in the know) tend to get more business. It's a perceived reality thing with consumers whether commercial or residential.

A website is often a (first look) for consumers. I own my website but also have spent money on it year after year. I do not like websites where you pay a monthly fee. They give you basic box stuff and sell to the masses. You can choose to be different out there and to do that you need a custom design.