Haven't bought a property in almost a year - potential markets

9 Replies

Hello everyone! I have been hiding out for a few months, mostly just traveling and reading up on investing in equities of all things (which I have always been skeptical of).

I bought my last property as a single owner in Jan. 2017, it was actually a Turnkey property in a pretty stable market in the South. Since then, I have been investing $50-100K here and there in large apartment syndications. Maybe I have been to lazy, and maybe this is too broad of a question.

I have always wanted to own a condo or home in California, but I know even local investors seems overwhelmed there. What markets in the inland or even around the Bay Area, SF, or LA do you like? Any up and coming cities or towns worth a look?

I am not looking to be spoonfed a secret sauce (because there probably isnt one), more to spark discussion amongst ourselves to see what markets are worth a second (or first) look. I like 3+ unit multifamily.

What is your goal with buying a property in CA? Just to own it, or do you actually want cash flow, etc.? And 3+ units...do you mean 3 or 4 to stay in residential category or willing to go to 5+ in commercial category?

Originally posted by @Ali Boone :

What is your goal with buying a property in CA? Just to own it, or do you actually want cash flow, etc.? And 3+ units...do you mean 3 or 4 to stay in residential category or willing to go to 5+ in commercial category?

I want to own a property near the Bay because I think I may want to settle there after the service. If I can get past the beating y'all take on taxes as a California resident. Also, I don't mind a little negative cash flow if I know I will get long term capital appreciation with the property.

Originally posted by @Lane Kawaoka :

Andrey Y. Hit me up when you are in Honolulu.