Destin Florida Condo Purchase

9 Replies

Hello everyone,

I am new to the BP and new to real-estate investing. My husband and I are in the process now of trying to buy a Destin, FL condo. We had no idea that all of the coastal condos there are considered "Condo-tels" even if they are owner occupied and are only eligible for 20 year financing, not 30, and require 30% down, not 20%. Just learn this today after being in the process of purchasing this for 3 weeks. So much to learn.....advice?

A lot of the local banks offer some condo only loan packages that are pretty good. I remember that when I was calling around banks a year ago. My advice is to make a list of the local banks then call them up and ask what they can do for condos.

What are your plans for the unit?

I find it hard to believe that any significant percentage of the condos there are set up as condotels. They likely have some sort of “vacation rental management co.” available, but I think there is some misunderstanding.

Condo tell is not a bad word here in Destin.  It is strictly a condo that is managed like a hotel with a front desk, short term rentals, etc,  90 % of the condo's here are condotel's.  regarding financing, there is money available but not a 30 year fixed product.  I know ARMS have gotten a bad rap lately but they are actually a good deal considering most folks don't hold onto a unit for over 5 years.

Hi @Cristy George ,