Cincinnati Area help

3 Replies

Hello

I am looking to invest in the Cincinnati area - specifically around Univ of Cincinnati. I am new to investing in that market and wanted to know a few things:

1. What is the general area in the mile radius around UC like? Is it a typical college area with restaurants and relatively low crime?

2. Is this a good rental market to invest in? Will the demographics be confined to university students or is this vicinity amenable to working adults as well?

3. What is the typical rental return on a 750-1000 sq ft SFR? Would it be around a $1/Sqft in terms of rent?

4. I am also looking for real estate agents to represent me in this area - please respond to this message and i will DM you.

Thank you

Vasanth

Hi Vasant, we are based out of Cincinnati. Please PM.

Vasanth,

Is there a particular reason you only want to focus in and around the UC area?

Even the UC area much like Cincinnati can vary street to street.  Where mainly college students live those areas generally landlords like to focus on students.  There will be some families mixed in the area.  

I think there are many areas in Cincinnati that can get what you are looking for in terms of rent return.  Trying to classify properties in terms of $ per square foot also does not work in Cincinnati due to the areas differing so much.  

It would be better to qualify what you want to find in terms of area grade A,B, C etc. what type of building are you looking for (SFR or multi) and the price range and then go from there.

College students require a very hands on rental management approach and your income off of that will be reduced by having to regularly get the apartments or Home ready for next wave of tenants.  

Paul