Trying to take the next step

5 Replies

Just a little about myself and my situation.  My name is Paul, and I am an electrician.  It’s always been my dream to own real estate.  I finally bought my first 4 years ago(duplex), and lived on one side.  I bought this as a fixer upper and it is complete.  I met my wife and we bought a house for 200,000 on acreage.  Sometimes I wish I wouldn’t have done this and bought another investment instead, but here I am.  Anyway I owe 70,000 on my duplex, but since the rehab and market increase the value has gone to about 160,000.  So 90,000 equity give or take.  I have 40,000 in liquid cash also.  As of right now after the mortgage is payed my duplex generates 900 a month cash flow.  I want to move forward and I’m very interested in larger apartment buildings.  I’d be interested in partnerships if that’s what it takes.  Anyway my question for you is where do I go from here?  Do I sell for a larger down payment?  Do I hold onto my duplex?  The market where I am in Indianapolis is really high, and there isn’t a lot of deals right now outside of the hood.  Do I expand my search area for property?  My goal is to be 100% out of the construction/electrical field, and into real estate full time. I just want to make all the right decisions so this can happen.  Thanks for reading!

This post has been removed.

@Paul Latendresse it depend on whether you're looking for a more active or passive opportunity.

If you're interested in a more active role, you may have a hard time securing a loan for a commercial property with little no experience in the space. So, you'll likely need to either (1) find partners that can help you secure a loan or (2) gain experience via a passive role.