What Contract to use to make offers in Ca?

13 Replies

Quick question and maybe some direction? So I'm a licensed realtor in Ca and have used the CAR purchase agreement for making offers on the MLS but wanted to get some insite and suggestions for what contracts are being used to purchase non listed properties directly from a homeowner. My wife and I want to make offers on fix and flip properties and just not sure what type of contract to go with? This would be for properties in Ca. Thank you so much for any help!!!

The same contract should work for off market properties.

I typically use the CAR. I have a couple that I’ve built but most sellers feel most comfortable with what is institutional and doesn’t look homemade. Not to say the homemade ones can’t be used but you can typically put whatever is needed into the CAR that you can in your own. I guess the main benefit of using your own is you can cut it down to a page or two.

You can use any purchase agreement you want.  But, if you are a Realtor and pay for access to the CAR forms, you should be able to use those for your own off-market offers.  There are more advantages to this too - sellers, escrow companies, lenders, and everyone else involved are more familiar with the standard CAR form.

That being said, I've had plenty of people ask me to draft custom purchase agreements to use for making offers, so I know that occurs, especially with off-market wholesale transactions.

Thanks so much guys! I was just a bit confused since the CAR contract has all the commissions and broker information and what I would be using it for is to purchase straight from the seller with no commissions being paid out or brokerages being used. Hopefully that makes sense?

You could leave the agent and broker information blank, because you are not using it, you may have to disclose that you are a licensed agent but the rest you would just leave blank as it does not apply.

Lloyd segal is a great contact just to run this by him.